- What is a cottage bakery?
- What are your food allergen precautions?
- What about coconuts or tree nuts?
- Are you a vegan bakery?
- What are your gluten-free precautions?
- Still have questions?
We are a cottage bakery which means this food is made in a home kitchen and is not inspected by the Department of State Health Services or a local health department.
We have a Food Handler’s Permit and follow all rules as outlined by the most recent 2019 SB 572.
We sell directly to our customers and by law cannot wholesale or ship our goods.
We do not have a storefront and mostly fulfill custom orders or take preorders around holidays.
We take food allergies very seriously. Our daughter has dairy, egg, peanut, and tree nut allergies so we know how important it is to avoid food allergen cross contamination.
Please, please, please always declare food allergies to us in your order.
All 8 major food allergens as outlined by the FDA in the FALCPA of 2004 (dairy, egg, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soy) + sesame ARE present in our kitchen.
NONE of our bakery equipment, such as cake pans, spatulas, silicone mats, bowls, etc, comes into contact with fish, shellfish, dairy, eggs, and peanuts.
The only tree nut that we use and that does come in contact with our equipment is coconut which is addressed in our “Tree Nut” section.
Before we bake, all kitchen surfaces are scrubbed, washed, and sanitized to avoid food allergen cross contamination.
We check and double check that all our ingredients do not contain dairy, egg, or peanut and are not manufactured in a facility that processes dairy, egg, or peanut.
We will not make any products that use/contain dairy, egg, peanuts, or non-coconut tree nuts.
We can accommodate some other food allergies. We have families regularly request soy-free, gluten-free, sesame-free, or corn-free. But be aware that these allergens are used regularly in our baking.
We are no longer classifying ourselves as a tree nut-free bakery because we DO use coconut in some of our baked goods and the FDA requires any product that uses coconut be classified as containing tree nuts.
The FDA labels coconut as a tree nut (even though we know that scientifically coconut is a drupe and would be considered a seed, it can be confusing as “nut” is in its name, so we’ll just follow what the FDA tells us to do).
We do NOT use any other tree nut (pecans, almonds, cashews, pistachios, hazelnuts, etc) in our baking.
The ONLY tree nut we use in our bakery is coconut. No other tree nut comes in contact with our bakery equipment, only coconut.
Not all of our products contain coconut so we will specifically list “CONTAINS: COCONUT” on the food label for all products that do contain it.
We are a vegan bakery. While we may come to vegan baking by way of food allergies, we take ensuring our ingredients are 100% vegan as seriously as we take our food allergen precautions. None of our products contain/use confectioner’s glaze, honey, dairy (including casein and whey), egg, or any animal derived ingredients. The sugars we use are not made using bone char.
Our kitchen is NOT exclusively gluten-free. We do use wheat flour and wheat products in our kitchen and on our bakery equipment.
We do offer a limited GF menu but please keep in mind that everything we make is dairy-free, egg-free, and peanut-free. We do not use almond flour. The texture of our GF baked goods will be without egg which is different from what some are used to.
We do our best to ensure as little gluten cross contamination as possible. Even though ingredients like sugar and cocoa powder are naturally gluten-free we do keep a dedicated gluten-free stock of them and all GF products to prevent cross contamination from our gluten baking. All the products that can be certified GF such as oats and GF flours are certified.
We use stainless steel equipment as much as possible to ensure that it can be properly washed and prepped for GF baking.
We’d love to answer them! Please email us using the form below.